HEALING BROKEN HEARTS AND WOUNDED SOULS

Have you ever had the impression that your mirror is mocking you? Have you ever felt like throwing a stone at your mirror and shattering it to pieces? Have you ever been traumatized by the image staring back at you from your mirror? How did you react to that experience?
Today I will talk about mirror, not the kind of mirror that is found on the wall in your bedroom or bathroom. I will talk abut “human mirrors”. Let’s get it through an anecdote.
Once upon a time I had to work in close collaboration with people who do not share my faith in God and others who were Christians, but who had a different style of worship than mine. Others acknowledged the existence of God but didn’t care much about giving Him honor and respect.
As a Christian and believer in Christ I naturally had my own convictions and inclinations which did not agree with the general atmosphere around me. There were activities I could not participate in because the Holy Spirit won’t let me. Some times I would force myself into them but then I will spend a miserable time watching others “enjoy” themselves. I finally decided to just follow the Spirit and honor God by staying away from a whole lot of things.
Curiously enough most of my colleagues began to show hostility to me just for the fact that I won’t take part in some of their activities. No matter how hard I tried to mind my own business I always seemed to be stepping on someone’s toes. Why was my presence becoming unbearable to them?
I soon realized that simple acts of obedience to the Holy Spirit that I posed were provoking very strong reactions from my colleagues; for instance, rendering a service for free to people who have previously been paying for it.
Without boasting about my spiritually, I however noted that some of them started following my example; for instance they would speak out against the use of obscene language and other wayward behavior. When this happened, instead for those concerned to check themselves they reacted by becoming even more hostile towards me.
There were times I almost walked up to them to let them know I have no hand in that; that I wasn’t the one inciting the others to speak out against their wayward manners. Put I thought better. I had nothing to apologize for, and it the cap fitted anyone, what they had to do was to wear it or get rid of it for good.
Now, back to mirror. What was happening here? There was a mirror on the wall; some people didn’t like the image they saw in it.
As Christians, we are mirrors on the wall. When people observe our lifestyle they either acknowledge their need for God and His righteousness or they hate us for giving them the image they do not want to acknowledge.
Instead of changing their lives in order to get a better image from the mirror, they try to change the mirror or throw stones at it. These are very futile options.
But that is what it means to be a Christian; presenting Christ to the world even on hostile grounds and being ready to receive stones for the sake of the Kingdom. We are not to conform to this present age, but to God’s own standard (Romans 12:2); then we will be able to show forth what the will of God is; we will be the lighthouse that directs people to God.
What is your own experience at your job, in your neighborhood, family…? What battles do you fight on a daily basis as you strive to present Christ through your words and lifestyle?

Comments on: "“THAT MIRROR IS INSULTING ME”" (2)

  1. Thank you Becky. you just gave a deeper and more spiritual analysis to what i wanted to say.

    Like

  2. Hi Gretiana,
    This is a great post and I like the analogy of the mirror. Thank you for giving us a way to see our circumstances from a different perspective. I think we forget all to often that while we are alive on this earth we are at war, not in an all inclusive 5 star resort. That every time we step out by faith in obedience to the Holy Spirit we create chaos in the realm of darkness. So we should not be surprised when those who are still under the power of the enemy lash out at us. This is one of the enemy’s ways to try and get us to retreat, to stop believing God. If we could recognize what is truly happening in the spiritual realm we would easily count it all joy when we fall into diverse trials and temptations knowing that the testing of our faith, which is more precious than gold, is producing in us an eternal weight of glory. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I CHERISH YOUR OPINION

Tag Cloud

