HEALING BROKEN HEARTS AND WOUNDED SOULS

 

I came from a background where I had to earn it all through hard work and good works.

Receiving God’s unmerited favor was quite an issue for me. I didn’t understand why God should just give me things, do things for me or pardon my folly without me having to do something to earn it. I always wanted to do something in return. Then one day God got tired of my wrong mindset and came up with a strategy just for me.

He let me mess up so badly and so many times that I thought “woe is me, I’m undone…I’m no good. I’m an embarrassment to you Lord; kill me so that I don’t bring more shame on you…”

I was kneeling there like a condemned criminal waiting for my sentencing. You know what? I instead heard that song “When peace like a river attendeth my soul…it is well, it is well with my soul.”

You will ask me, does God condone sin then? No! His grace is bigger than His anger.

God will suspend one of the laws for a season, for a reason and for a person so that a bigger purpose can be achieved. That does not make Him unrighteous. It makes Him sovereign and very merciful.

 

Comments on: "When God does “dumb” things, grace is at work: part 3" (2)

  1. Grace and mercy … how wonderful they are. I’m a firm believer that those who have been pulled from the depth of hell in their sin understand the sweetness of the grace and mercy offered them.

    I know I do.

    Thank you for your post.

    Like

I CHERISH YOUR OPINION

Tag Cloud

